About Us News & Events MathCounts Scholarships Student Chapter      


2023 MathCounts AnnouncementAnnouncement

2023 Chapter Volunteer Form

2023 State Volunteer Form Announcement

2023 Press Release Announcement

2023 Top 25% Announcement

2023 Top 40% - Team Announcement

2023 Advancement to State Announcement

MATHCOUNTS® is a national enrichment, coaching and competition program that promotes middle school student interest in mathematics achievement. More information regarding the MathCounts program can be found at www.mathcounts.org. School-based teams composed of four students compete through chapter, state and ultimately the national competitions. Illinois' program is one of the largest in the nation. Local MATHCOUNTS competitions are sponsored by the ISPE Chapters during the month of February. Winning teams from the chapter-level competitions move on to the Illinois State competition held in March. The top 4 State winners advance to

2023 MATHCOUNTS Competition

The 2023 Chapter MatchCounts was held on 2/18/2023 at the College of Lake County in Grayslake, IL.

Members of the winning Daniel Wright Junior High School Team are Eric Zhang, Wenhan Li, Daniel Li, and Claire Wang. Four additional Teams scored enough points to advance to State as “Wildcard” Teams.  Members of the second place “Wildcard #1” Team of Amrith Praveen, Chloe Xu, Bowen Li, and Amber Dong are from Aptakisic Junior High School in Buffalo Grove.  Members of the third place “Wildcard #2” Team are Debarghya Das, Evans Xu, Mohammad Yusuf, and Anunay Arun from Hawthorn Middle School South in Vernon Hills. Members of the fourth place “Wildcard #3” Team from Barrington Middle School Prairie Campus in Barrington are Rishin Patel, Aarush Joshi, Sidd Mohanty, and Annat Jain.  Members of the fourth place “Wildcard #4” Team are Dustin Simon, Nichant Reed, Lawrence Over, and Andrew Calderon from Shepard Middle School in Deerfield. 

The top four highest scoring Individuals were Amrith Praveen from Aptakisic Junior High School, Eric Zhang from Daniel Wright Junior High School, Wenhan Li from Daniel Wright, and Debarghya Das from Hawthorn Middle School South, respectively.  Each Chapter is allowed to send the top 4 scoring Individuals to State that are not on a Team advancing to State.  Amrith, Eric, Wenhan, and Debarghya will advance to State as a member of their school’s team.  Ben Fei from Aptakisic Junior High School, Landon Hutchinson from Woodlawn Middle School in Long Grove, Likhith Nimmanapalli from Aptakisic and Kautik Madve from Hawthorn South will advance to State and represent the Lake County Chapter in the Individuals category.

Following the written portion of the competition, the 16 highest scoring competitors participated in a fast-paced, timed verbal Countdown Round. Trophies were awarded to the top 4 finishers. Amrith Praveen from Aptakisic won first place and Wenhan Li from Daniel Wright placed second, Eric Zhang from Daniel Wright placed third and Debarghya Das from Hawthorn South placed fourth.

Please see the Downloads Section & the following link for additional information: https://www.mathcounts.org/programs/competition-series


The local program is sponsored by the College of Lake County and the Lake Michigan Post of the Society of American Military Engineers. Leadership of the local MATHCOUNTS program is provided by members of the Lake County Chapter of the Illinois Society of Professional Engineers. The National Sponsors of MATHCOUNTS are Raytheon Company, Northrop Grumman Foundation, U.S. Department of Defense, National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE), CNA Foundation, ConocoPhillips, Texas Instruments Incorporated, 3M Foundation, Art of Problem Solving, and NextThought


The 2023 State MathCount Competition will be held on March 4, 2023 at at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), 5300 West Touhy Ave., Skokie, Il 60077 (844 202-3910). See ISPE's website for additional information.

See Volunteer form under Downloads if interested in Volunteering.

Illinois Society of Professional Engineers